Equipment & gear / Photography / Uncategorized

Shoot first, focus later: Lytro camera

If you enjoy street photography, you know that you have to be quick to spot opportunities and that most times, you don’t have much time to fiddle around with your settings – including focusing – before firing off a picture.

How many times have you come home, uploaded your pictures to your laptop, and found that your focus was a bit off from where you would have preferred it to be?

Sure, a lot of times we can crop or post process to hide the minor focus faux pas, but what if we didn’t have to? What if there was a camera that allowed you to point, shoot and think about focus later? Sounds preposterous?

Tell that to Dr. Ren Ng, the developer of the Lytro camera, which does just that. Basically, the camera captures all the information it possibly can about the field of light in front of it, presenting you with a digital image that is adjustable in an almost infinite number of ways. Not only can you change the focus, you can even vary the light levels. And if you have a 3-D ready screen, you can switch between 2D and 3D views or shift the perspective of the scene!

Impressive, eh? Check this picture out – the flowers in the foreground are in clear focus here:

Wildflowers_Lytro

And with just  a click of the mouse, I got the background in focus in the picture below:

Wildflowers_Lytro_1

Want to try it yourself? Head over to Lytro’s gallery of living pictures and give it a whirl!

14 thoughts on “Shoot first, focus later: Lytro camera

  1. It sounds cool but wouldn’t it curb the photography skills in a person? I mean, you would stop bothering about the the details and will just go on a clicking spree. Just a thought.

  2. WOW. How cool is that!? I’ve never heard of such a thing. Very impressive gadget. Kind of keeps to take some of the artistry away though. I feel like having the eye to actually see the photo before capturing it, is most of the creativity in it. this one seems to make it to where anyone can be a “good” photographer.
    Very cool though.

    • Impressive technology behind the camera, no doubt about that. But yes, it does take away from the creativity of photography. I wonder how (and if) it will change photography as we know it today.

    • Well, according to the website, the file size won’t be much larger than the size of pictures from a normal consumer camera. Speed was something I don’t remember reading about, though…

  3. Sounds interesting, but it removes the artistic side of things for me. Also, that 2nd pic – the background isn’t crystal clear – what can I say? I’m a perfectionist! When I take a pic, I like to see it right away so that I can re-take it, if I don’t like what it looks like – it would drive me nuts if I got home, looked at the pic and couldn’t get it the way I originally intended. I’ll stick with a bit more manual work, thanks 🙂

    • hehe! Well, the focus was on the lil blue thingie in the background. Try out the other pictures on their website, it’s pretty amazing. Though I don’t think I’ll switch from my trusted camera either. 😉

Leave a Reply

