iPhoneography

Choose to look at the bright side of life

Choose to look at the bright side of life

It’s about the simple pleasures in life – a bouquet of flowers to brighten up your mood… a bunch of multi-colored balloons to make you feel 5 years old again… a bar of chocolate, just because… a bright blue sky to fill your heart with joy… a hot cup of coffee to start the day… a warm shower to melt the fatigue away…

So often we focus on the negative, on everything that’s wrong with our lives. But in each moment, how you feel is a choice you make. You can focus on the negative and let it pull you down. Or you can look for a silver lining and feel a surge of hope, faith and gratitude. The choice is always yours.

So tell me this: what strategy do you use to pull yourself out of a funk?

Photograph taken with the iPhone 3Gs. Edited with Snapseed, Pixlromatic, & Camera360. Text added with Over

Like what you see? Then you should
Follow on Bloglovin

25 thoughts on “Choose to look at the bright side of life

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I wrote something similar this week- I listed my top 5 things that make ME happy and then tried to do them every day this week! I listed things that boost my attitude are yoga/mediation, doing something to help someone else, writing, being outside and reading. Happily, these are all ‘free and simple pleasures’ which I loved! Thanks for the reminder.

    Stopping by from SITS Sharefest πŸ™‚

    • Oh that’s a brilliant idea, thank you Jenn! I’m going to list and do five things to make myself happy every day instead of just trying to remember to be happy. It sure can be hard to do when you’re morose πŸ˜‰

  2. Personally, I work out. I suffered a bit with depression before I got into health & fitness, exercising gives you such a great boost of endorphins and makes you feel great!

  3. So true. I find that blogging really helps me focus on the positive, actually, as well as keeping me constantly on the look-out for new experiences and fun things to write about. That, and a few minutes with my gerbil is always a way to wind down! (though it’s somewhat high-stress, because he’s *fast*)

  4. This may sound cheesy, but I like to take a shower and listen to music. It helps me clear my mind, and I often am able to put things into perspective. A proverbial cleansing of the soul.

  5. i’ve had issues with anxiety since i can remember. in my 20’s it was mostly about making rent, fixing my car, what i wanted to be when i grew up, etc. πŸ˜‰ and of course it hit me hardest as soon as i got in bed, which led to terrible sleep, further perpetuating my anxiety. for the last few years i’ve made it a point to think only positive thoughts while i’m trying to fall asleep. i had to focus a bit at first but it got easier until it just became a habit. i’ll replay an especially happy moment, think up a happy ending to an uncertain situation, make a wish, anything good. i do this every single night no matter what kind of day i’ve had and it makes all the difference in the world.

    so glad you posted this!

    LittleBirdBlogs

  6. So true. I have two mottos. The first is that happiness is a method of travel not a destination. Too many people are waiting for their life to be perfect to be happy. The perfect house, family, job, whatever. Just be happy right where you are. My other is for difficult days and I remind myself that it’ll pass. That time marches on and if enough time passes things will improve and my memories will fade of the bad days.

    • I agree! If you keep waiting for the “perfect” moment, you’ll be waiting a long, long time indeed! And the journey is so much more pleasant when you go through it with joy.

Leave a Reply

